Highway System Cityscape
Two Worksite Workers Shaded

Community Development Leader Awards

Brought to you by SAFEbuilt

Recognizing outstanding contributions in municipal leadership

The Community Development Leader Awards (CDLAs) recognize the tireless work and unwavering commitment of the local leaders — including city managers, public works directors, city engineers, and municipal leaders — who keep our communities safe, running, growing, and thriving. Their behind-the-scenes efforts often go unrecognized, but their impact is immense.

These awards represent a unique and prestigious new national accolade, unparalleled in its scope and significance.

This initiative stands alone in its dedication to honoring municipal leaders, transcending regional boundaries and peer recognitions.

Join us in this momentous initiative to recognize and elevate those who are shaping our communities for the better.

Neighborhood Rooftops
Female Hardhat

Inspired by remarkable public servants

As an industry leader providing building department services to thousands of communities across the country for more than 30 years, we at SAFEbuilt understand the dedication, innovation, passion, and leadership these professionals demonstrate daily. We see it every day in offices, on job sites, in town halls, and around our neighborhoods. And this work is often so much more than “business as usual.”

We established the CDLAs to honor this hard work and the challenges these remarkable individuals face, as well as their innovations and their achievements. The CDLAs are a long-awaited opportunity to bring some well-deserved recognition to their service.

Sign Up for Reminders

Nominate a community leader today

It takes all kinds of leaders to make an impact on the communities they serve. That’s why we have an award available for many different titles and contributions, including:

City Park
Three Worksite Workers Talking

And the nominees are … up to you

It’s time to put these tireless leaders and community innovators in the spotlight. And the nominations are up to the people who know them best: their colleagues, staff, partners, and community members. People like you.

Simply visit our nomination page and fill out the form to submit your nominee for consideration. Nominations are free and will be accepted between November 13, 2024, and January 31, 2025. Winners will be announced Spring 2025.

Sign up for reminders

Meet the 2024 winners

We’re excited and honored to announce this year’s winners. The number of nominations and their achievements have been astonishing. Our congratulations to the winners and thanks to the all those who submitted.