Award Winners CDLA Recipients

Meet the leaders driving community success

Receiving a Community Development Leadership Award (CDLA) isn’t just a form of recognition — it’s a celebration of the leaders who go above and beyond to create safer places to live, work, and play.

While we can only give out so many awards every year, every nomination for the CDLAs is an honor in and of itself. Each nominee has achieved accomplishments that embody the vision, perseverance, and integrity that sustains today’s neighborhoods (and will continue to drive us forward for generations to come).

2024 CDLA winners

Congratulations to the following leaders who are paving a path toward better, safer communities.

Alma Karina Martinez City Of El Monte 640x830 1

City Manager of the Year

Alma Karina Martinez

City of El Monte, CA
David Schoon City Of Winnetka

Community Development Director of the Year

David Schoon

Village of Winnetka, IL
Mike Perry Hopkinsville Ky

City Engineer / Public Works Director of the Year

Mike Perry

City of Hopkinsville, KY
Chrstian Hamilton Stephens County Georgia E1717424985220

Transformational Leader Award

Christian Hamilton

Stephens County, GA
Nicole Zieba City Of Reedley California

Resilience Champion Award

Nicole Zieba

City of Reedley, CA
Aj Oconnel City Of Kingsburg California

Public Service Innovator Award

A.J. O’Connell

City of Kingsburg, CA
Paula Pelzer West Pelzer Sc

Community Builder Award

Paula Payton

Town of West Pelzer, SC
Img 0581

Sustainability Trailblazer Award

H. Ted Gerber

City of South Pasadena, CA
Cody Schindler City Of Alma

Future Leader Award

Cody Schindler

City of Alma, AR
Steve Williamson Village Of Key Biscayne Fl

Infrastructure Visionary Award

Steve Williamson

Village of Key Biscayne, FL

Know someone who deserves to be nominated?

While nominations are currently closed, get on the list to be notified when submissions are being accepted for 2025.